Vredenburg Castle is often mentioned in the same breath as Trijn van Leemput. In 1577, she went to the castle together with a large group of women, to remove the first stones of the much hated castle. This was a sign for fellow Utrechters to help with the further demolition of the castle. Around 1580, the castle was largely demolished. Remains were regularly visible during construction work on Vredenburg. Such as in 1976, when a group of people, probably university students, were given a tour.